location  |  hours  |  directory  |  contact us An official County of Muskegon website
Home >> Training >> ServSafe®

ServSafe® Training

The Health Education program offers ServSafe® training. ServSafe® is a nationally recognized certification program through the National Restaurant Association Education Foundation. This training is for food service managers, directors, chefs, kitchen managers, dietitians and dietary managers. It provides information for all levels of employees on all aspects of handling food, from receiving and storing, to preparing and serving; information you and your employees need to be a part of a successful food safety team.

    

To learn more about ServSafe®, visit the official website at www.servsafe.com.

   

Other Useful Information

Health Education Program Annual Report

  


ServSafe® Certification

   

Date & Time:  
(Must attend both days) Aug 7, 2014 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
      Aug 14, 2014 8:30 am - 1:00 pm
           
Cost per Person: $180 This price includes the book to keep and the exam.
       
Language: While the class is taught in English, materials are available in other languages. If you would like your book and exam in a language other than English, please let us know when you register. Call (231) 724-6350 or email healtheducation@co.muskegon.mi.us.
       
Registration: Registration Form - Certification

   


ServSafe® Recertification & Exam Proctoring

Recertification and exam proctoring is available in a classroom setting only. Call (231) 724-6350 or email healtheducation@co.muskegon.mi.us for appointment availability. Cost is $45.

   


Location & Registration Information

Class Location:

Muskegon Governmental Complex - South Campus

Training Center Building

133 E Apple Ave, Muskegon, MI 49442

     
Registration: Please click on the registration form above, fill it out and print it. Mail it with payment (check or money order) to:
    
  

Public Health - Muskegon County

Attn: ServSafe

209 E Apple Ave

Muskegon, MI 49442

    
  You can also register by calling (231) 724-6350 or emailing healtheducation@co.muskegon.mi.us. The deadline for registration and payment is two weeks prior to the date of the class. Cancellations must be received 48 hours in advance to receive a refund.

   


Food Manager Certification

The following food establishments must employ a minimum of one certified managerial employee:

  • Food service establishments,
    • Except: mobile units, temporary events, special transitory food units, and vending machine locations
  • Grocery stores with a deli and seating, and
  • Food service establishments that operate within a retail grocery.

  

For full details on the legal requirements, visit the following links:

Regulation No. 570 - Manager Certification (MDA)

Michigan Food Law section 289.2129

Manager Certification Myths and Facts

Manager Certification Rules to Take Effect (MDA Memo)

Manager Certification Rules Now Effective (MDA Memo)

  

For more information about food manager certification, including a list of other training choices, visit the Michigan Department of Agriculture website.